SECOND WINNER OF THE FRANK P. RAMSEY PRIZE From Macroeconomic Dynamics

The second Frank P. Ramsey Prize was awarded by **Macroeconomic Dynamics** for the best paper published in that journal during its second four

years of publication (2001–2004 inclusive). The prize was awarded to Martin Lettau and Harald Uhlig for the article "The Sharpe Radio and Preferences: A Parametric Approach" which appeared in Volume 6, No. 2 (April 2002), on pages 202–241.

The article's abstract appears below and is also available free of charge at Cambridge Journals Online (http://journals.cambridge.org/ jid_MDY).

The article discusses a simple

univariate nonlinear parametric time-series model for unemployment rates, focusing on the asymmetry observed in many OECD unemployment series. The model is based on a standard logistic smooth transition autoregressive model for the first difference of unemployment, but it also includes a lagged level term. This model allows for asymmetric

THE PRIZE WAS AWARDED TO MARTIN LETTAU AND HARALD UHLIG FOR THE ARTICLE "THE SHARPE RADIO AND PREFERENCES: A PARAMETRIC APPROACH" WHICH APPEARED IN VOLUME 6, NO. 2 (APRIL 2002), ON PAGES 202-241. behavior by permitting "local" nonstationarity in a globally stable model. Linearity tests are performed for a number of quarterly, seasonally unadjusted, unemployment series from OECD countries, and linearity is rejected for a number of them. For a number of series, nonlinearity found by testing can be modeled satisfactorily by use of our smooth transition autoregressive model. The properties of the estimated models, including persistence of the shocks according to them, are illustrated in various

ways and discussed. Possible existence of moving equilibria in series not showing asymmetry is investigated and modeled with another smooth transition autoregressive model.

The prize is named in honor of Frank P. Ramsey (1903-1930). Keynes regarded Ramsey's classic "A Mathematical Theory of Savings" (1928) to be "one of the most remarkable contributions to mathematical economics ever made."

The prize's selection committee comprised:

William A. Barnett, secretary Jean-Pascal Bénassy Michele Boldrin Francis Diebold Douglas Gale Gregory Hess Adrian Pagan Michael Woodford

This intentionally scarce and highly selective prize is awarded only once every four years.

For more information, please see http://econ.tepper.cmu.edu/barnett/prize2.html or contact the editor of Macroeconomic Dynamics, William A. Barnett, at barnett@ku.edu